Monday, August 29, 2016

UK one-offs part 10: Pop Concert

This LP appeared on the little-noted Tempo label in 1979, but the clues to its true origins are there - I need not point out to collectors of Chevron's "Parade of Pops" series the act name, The Sound Sensations, nor the credits for Multiple Sound Distributors. For what we have here is, essentially, a "Parade of Pops" compilation (almost - see below) and, to cap it all, it was pressed on groovy green vinyl:

Pretty cool, eh? So the dozen selections can all be heard on "Parade of Pops", on various volumes ranging from CHVP 3 to CHVP 12. (And, since there was track sharing going on, five also turn up on various "Top of the Pops" LPs too.)

Here's the track listing:
  • Bang Bang 
  • Sunday Girl 
  • Mr. Blue Sky
  • Lay Your Love On Me 
  • Sweet Little Rock 'N' Roller  
  • Night Fever 
  • Ring My Bell 
  • Banana Splits 
  • Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick 
  • Gotta Go Home   
  • You're The One That I Want
  • Painter Man

So, what's the odd one out which I mentioned? Well, it's the most ambitious of the lot. "Mr. Blue Sky" never appeared on "Parade of Pops". However Chevron nailed a copy for the album below - an ELO tribute album also from 1979.

Why "Pop Concert" was pressed on the Tempo label rather than Chevron, is unclear, but with the green vinyl to mark it out from the crowd, this is one "one-off" well worth hunting down.

1 comment:

  1. What I wouldn't give to be able to hear the ELO tribute album!